Europe

Le palais du Bonbon et du Nougat

On our way to Lyon, we decided to stop at Montélimar where we discovered heaven on Earth. In other words, le Palais du bonbon et du nougat (aka Palace of Candies and Nougat). A place dedicated to anything sugary on this planet. Needless to say, I was very excited to visit this place and get my hands on as many samples as I could.

IMG_0391

To my pleasant surprise, the museum is way more than a couple of candy jars for everyone to taste. A whole section of this place was dedicated to toys of all countries and ages and I rediscovered objects of my past such as Astérix, Obélix, Tintin, les schtroumpfs and such. The museum also explained the history of sugar and its creation from the sugar cane or the beetroot (you heard me right, sugar comes from a vegetable. Who would have thought?) to the white powder we put in cake and in our teas. We also saw the workshop where they do nougat and package it to be later sold. We, of course, finished the visit in the gift shop filled with candies as far as the eye can see. Bye self-control and hello chocolate!!!

IMG_0393In one word, I found the museum very interesting. I learned much about sugar (I was an expert in chocolate history but not sugar). I enjoyed the toy section very much especially as they had put riddles and games up on the wall so we had a lot of fun putting our heads together to find the solution. The museum isn’t far from the highway (only 5-10 mins) so if you get the chance, I would highly recommend that you swing by this place and grab some candies. 🙂

Leave a Reply

