North America

Fisherman’s Wharf in San Francisco

The beauty of working for a company with multiple offices is that at some point, you are bound to get a free trip. Fortunately, I didn’t have to wait too long for mine and I got San Francisco. I was a little familiar with this city as I got to participate in the Nike’s Women Marathon a couple of years ago. However, I only got a glimpse of the city so when my boss asked me to go down to San Francisco, I jumped on the occasion. My coworker and I got a spot at a tech conference With every little trip, I get to see a bit more. This time for example, my coworker and I took a hop-on hop-off bus. I visited Lyon this way and loved it. It’s a great way to go around the city and see all the tourist spots. It usually takes around 2hrs for a full tour and I paid 30$ for mine.

We started our tour at the Ferry Terminal at the end of Market Street but you can also buy tickets at Fisherman’s Wharf. This time I got to go on the San Francisco bridge. The day was sunny, but man, did I freeze my ass off. As any city by the ocean, there are some winds and when you sit on a double-decker open-top bus, you definitely feel it on your face. I am actually glad I managed to take this picture because I thought my phone was going to fly right out of my hand.

bridge

The tour stops included:

  • Ferry Building
  • Pier 39
  • Fisherman’s Wharf
  • Golden Gate Bridge
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • and much more

One of my favorite spot: Fisherman’s Wharf! I am a big fish and seafood lover (I didn’t called my blog travelling pescatarian for my love of bananas :)) and when you are in my situation, Fisherman’s Wharf is the place to be. A lot of the boats leaving for Alcatraz also start there. There are lots of attractions too including Madame Tussauds’ wax museum and The San Francisco Dungeon (both of which I haven’t visited but looked like a lot fun).

fisherman_wharf

We got there by stepping off our tour bus but another way to get there is by cable car. You can get one at the intersection of Powell and Market Street and ride it up the hill until the terminal. The Powell-Hyde line should get you the closest to Fisherman’s Wharf. Here is a map for all the cable cars. Tip: it’s a lot more fun to take one from Fisherman’s Wharf to downtown as you get to go down the hill (and hang out of the cable car).

 

Leave a Reply

