North America

10 acres

Patio season is starting in Victoria and with it, the search for the perfect place to meet girlfriends after work. Yesterday, I tried 10 acres with one of them. Now, I have been to this restaurant a few times so I am familiar with the menu but I hadn’t tried heir patio or their drink menu for that matter.

I arrived for 6pm on a Friday evening and the patio was almost full apart from one table which we managed to snag. They don’t take reservations for the patio so it’s a first-come first-served basis and the earlier the better. I was glad we got one outside. It was been a beautiful week in Victoria and I was eager to finally spend an evening outside and enjoy some of the sun (instead of gazing at it from my office desk).

10 acres is one of those ‘farm to table’ restaurant which have been popular lately in BC. The owner have a farm on the island and their menus consist mostly of things they grow themselves. Everything is therefore local including the seafood.

My friend and I ordered a jug of sangria and two dishes: one fish and chips and I got the prawn pappardelle. I hesitated with the mushroom tagliatelle which I always order but I decided to strike outside my comfort zone on that day. It was alright. The prawn were delicious but I found the pappardelle awkward to eat. I will go back to the tagliatelle next time.

IMG_3153

The sangria was delicious. I am usually not a big fan of red wine but the flavour was nicely concealed while still being an alcoholic drink. I definitely came out of the restaurant a bit tipsy. 🙂

To finish the night, we ordered desserts. I have a sweet tooth and for some reason, always crave sugar when I am drinking. I therefore got a chocolate torte and it was delicious. With a nice dash of whipped cream, it was almost like a chocolate mousse in a cake.

IMG_3154

Total (Categories are marked out of 5):
Food:Simple, Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFireSimple, Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFireSimple, Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFireSimple, Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFire

(A bit of a hit and miss for some dishes, but for the most part delicious)
Service:Simple, Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFireSimple, Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFireSimple, Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFireSimple, Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFireSimple, Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFire

(The servers are always very nice).
Price:Simple, Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFireSimple, Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFireSimple, Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFire

(a bit pricy but worth it considering the quality fo the ingredients used)

Leave a Reply

