Tech

Collision Conference

Last month, I got to go to New Orleans to attend the Collision Conference. I went to a support conference last year but this one was different. Not only did it span over 3 days but there was way more people. As in thousands of entrepreneurs, startup employees, journalists, speakers and attendees.

IMG_3007

The first thing that struck me is the number of startups in this world. Every industry imaginable showed up to get funding and present their product. Being in a startup in a small city sometimes gives me a tiny picture of the industry. On this week, I got a glimpse of the bigger picture. Every company I met were new (apart from KPMG – I knew that one). Now, I wasn’t sold on every idea. Some of those companies seemed to be trying to re-create existing products but their enthusiasm was amazing.

IMG_2984

There were multiple stages at the conference – Music, University, Breakthrough, Builders, Enterprise, Marketing, Sport, Pitch and Center. I spent most of my time at the Builder Stage whose talks were focused on development and the Center one with lots of talks on virtual reality. I got my first virtual reality experience which was kind of awesome. 🙂 I got to see a show of the Cirque du Soleil up close thanks to VR.

I was great to get such a broad perspective but not a lot of it would apply to my specific job (aka front-end development) which is why next time, I might choose to go at its sister conference instead, Web Summit. Regardless, I got a free ticket (thanks to Collision Conference giving away 10,000 tickets to women in tech) and I got to visit New Orleans. So worth it!

 

Leave a Reply

